• No products in the cart.

Ewald Brass Quintet No.1 By Victor Ewald


Digital Download

Victor Ewald’s Brass Quintet No.1 in B flat minor, Op. 5, is part of a 4 quintet series by Ewald that is one of the most famous of the entire quintet literature.

For many years Ewald’s four quintets were considered to be the first original pieces composed specifically for an ensemble which is recognizable today as essentially the modern brass quintet – consisting of two treble, valved instruments, one alto, one tenor, and one bass.

For many years it was wrongly thought that Ewald was the composer of only one quintet, No.1 in Bb, because it was the only one published during his lifetime. The discovery of the other three works was due to the research of André M. Smith, who was given the manuscripts by Ewald’s son-in-law. A further nine years of investigation was necessary to authenticate the manuscripts before the pieces were given their first modern performance during the 1974-75 season in a series of concerts by the American Brass Quintet at Carnegie Hall.

This beautiful engraving by John Laverty brings these old manuscripts to life in a clear and easy to read digital edition. It is perfect to read of a tablet, but is also spaced with blank pages for a double-sided printing that will give you a score and parts with perfect page turns.

As with the entire series, this set includes an extra first trumpet part transposed to Eb to help take the sting out of the most taxing movements.

Click to the left for samples, then grab an immediate digital download above.

Parts Included

  • Score
  • Trumpet 1 in Bb
  • Trumpet 1 in Eb
  • Trumpet 2 in Bb
  • Horn in F
  • Trombone
  • Tuba

Ewald Quintet No.1 Mvt 1

Additional information



Book Type



File Size in MB



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Ewald Brass Quintet No.1”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You don't have permission to register