• No products in the cart.

The Big Beat (Combo-Orks) By Johnny Warrington


Digital Download

Johnny Warrington led a radio orchestra on Philadelphia station WCAU during the 1940s. During the 1950s, Warrington became a prolific arranger. Many modern-day big bands still use his arrangements, and qPress is re-releasing all of his flex-arrangement combo books for trumpet, trombone, saxes, piano and rhythm section.

Since Warrington was deep into the big band era with his radio orchestra, it makes sense that he would collection his hardest hitting Big Band charts into a single volume of flexible arrangements for mixed groups. The Big Beat for Small Combos lets you pick and choose what instruments you want to use, and the Bb, C, and Eb books have all of the melodies, counter melodies, chord charts, piano parts, and rhythm section comping you need to put together a convincing performance, no matter what instrumentation you have.

To the left you can see samples from each book, below you can find the full song list, and above you can grab an immediate PDF download.

  1. At Sundown
  2. Coquette
  3. Don’t Blame Me
  4. Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
  5. I Understand
  6. I’m int he Mood for Love
  7. I’m Sitting on Top of the World
  8. In a Little Spanish Town
  9. My Blue Heaven
  10. Pagan Love Song
  11. Pennsylvania 6-5000
  12. Wabash Blues
  13. The Wang Wang Blues
  14. Taking a Chance on Love
  15. There Goes my Heart

Additional information





File Size in MB



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Big Beat (Combo-Orks)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You don't have permission to register