• No products in the cart.

The Artistry and Language of Kevin Dean (With Audio) By Kevin Dean


Digital Download

Kevin Dean is a unique voice in modern jazz, and today we are proud to present this fantastic overview of his recorded work with a series of note-for-note transcriptions complete with all of the original audio recordings included. Kevin Dean has maintained his position of professor at McGill teaching trumpet, jazz composition, improvisation and jazz performance practice, while performing and collaborating in concert and the recording studio with well-known jazz artists including Jimmy Heath, Benny Golson, Joe Henderson and Barry Harris.

In this wonderful book, Craig Tweddell takes you on a journey through Kevin’s recordings with 28 solo transcriptions, complete with the original audio recordings. If you are looking for a challenge of your dexterity while hearing a refreshing take on modern jazz vocabulary, you are going to go crazy for this set.

To the left you can see some free samples, below you will find the song list, and above you can grab an immediate digital download of both the solo transcriptions and the audio.

Listen to Kevin Dean “Alien Baby”

Listen to Kevin Dean “Big Time”

Track/Transcription List

  1. Alien Baby (Bb Rhythm Changes)
  2. Big Time (Broadway)
  3. Cats in a Bag (Minority)
  4. Dark Night (No Moon at All)
  5. Dave’s Dilemma (Cherokee)
  6. Diminished Returns (C- Blues)
  7. Either Way (Come Rain or Come Shine)
  8. Flat Line (Eb- Blues)
  9. Get Along or Get Along Now (Bb Blues)
  10. Gone by Morning (You Stepped Out of a Dream)
  11. How Deep is the Ocean
  12. I’ve Got Rhizomes (Bb Rhythm Changes)
  13. Madame Bellecheveux (Asiatic Raes)
  14. Make Me a Present of You
  15. Mico’s Manner (Roll Call)
  16. Mock’s Nest (F Blues)
  17. Nowheresville (Out of Nowhere)
  18. Over at Ola’s (F Rhythm Changes)
  19. Pony Ride (I’m Getting Sentimental Over You)
  20. Quasimodo (Embraceable you)
  21. Retournez S.V.P. (Lover Come Back to Me)
  22. Scooter’s Tempo
  23. So Long Cerulean (Bye Bye Blues)
  24. Split Kick (There Will Never be Another You)
  25. Stepping Up
  26. Sweet Brown Round (Sweet Georgia Brown)
  27. The Hall Monitor (F Blues)
  28. You’d Be (You’d Be So Nice to Come Home to)

Additional information




Book Type




File Size in MB



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Artistry and Language of Kevin Dean (With Audio)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You don't have permission to register