• No products in the cart.

Shostakovich, Orchestra Studies for Horn By Dmitri Shostakovich


Digital Download

Shostakovich’s orchestral music is extraordinary in its ability to convey profound human emotion, often navigating the turbulent political and personal landscapes of his time. His compositions are marked by a unique blend of intense dissonance, dark humor, and poignant lyricism, creating a compelling and evocative musical language. The sheer emotional intensity and dramatic contrasts found in Shostakovich’s orchestral works make them a gripping exploration of the human condition.

For French horn players, Shostakovich’s orchestral repertoire is a thrilling challenge, as the instrument often plays a crucial role in conveying the composer’s emotional depth and intensity. The French horn’s ability to evoke both haunting melancholy and triumphant brilliance aligns perfectly with the emotional complexity present in Shostakovich’s compositions, allowing horn players to contribute significantly to the gripping narrative of his orchestral works.

This edition contains horn excerpts from Shostakovich’s most beloved orchestral works, including EVERY ONE of his symphonies. Take a look at a few sample pages and then click above for an immediate PDF download.

Pieces Included

  • Symphony No. 1
  • Symphony No. 2
  • Symphony No. 3
  • Symphony No. 4
  • Symphony No. 5
  • Symphony No. 6
  • Symphony No. 7
  • Symphony No. 8
  • Symphony No. 9
  • Symphony No. 10
  • Symphony No. 11
  • Symphony No. 12
  • Symphony No. 13
  • Symphony No. 15
  • Violinkonzert No. 1
  • Klavierkonzert No. 2
  • Violoncellokonzert No. 1
  • Violoncellokonzert No. 2
  • Violinkonzert No. 2

Additional information



Book Type




File Size in MB



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Shostakovich, Orchestra Studies for Horn”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You don't have permission to register