• No products in the cart.

390 Quartets of J.S. Bach for French Horn By J.S. Bach


Digital Download

Volumes 1 and 2 of Mathew James’ adaptation of Bach’s Quartets for four French Horns have arrived. We will be releasing a new volume each month until all 390 quartets are complete. From the forward by Mathew James:

“The chorales in these volumes are adapted from the four voice chorales as collected by and published by Phillip Emanuel Bach. These chorales represent the four voice chorales as composed by Johannes Sebastian Bach during his time at the Lutheran Church. Not only are J.S. Bach’s chorales an example of his masterful control of harmony but as Albert Schweitzer expressed: “The great masters of chorale settings such as Eccard, Pertoriud and others harmonized the melody; Bach did the text. The chorale melody as such is of indefinite character for him. It assumes a personal touch only if a definite text is underlying, the nature of which is absorbed by the added harmony.”

As Brass players these chorales represent a tremendous collection of material to work on sound, intonation, and other specific aspects of horn playing and section playing. A purpose for setting the complete collection of chorales, instead of just selected ones is this also serves as a great section sight reading tools for a horn section. This allows all aspects of section playing to be worked on with a long supply of fresh material.”

Have a go at the complete chorale samples provided in the samples to the left and then click above for a PDF download of the entire collection.

Additional information




Book Type




File Size in MB



390 Quartets of J.S. Bach for French Horn Vol.1, 390 Quartets of J.S. Bach for French Horn Vol.2


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “390 Quartets of J.S. Bach for French Horn”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You don't have permission to register