• No products in the cart.

The Historic California Concerts of 1954 By Clifford Brown


Digital Download

The Clifford Brown/Max Roach quintet was formed during the spring and summer of 1954 in Los Angeles. A concert by an early version of the group (with tenor saxophonist Teddy Edwards, pianist Carl Perkins and bassist George Bledsoe) resulted in four titles, as did the earliest documentation of the permanent group (with tenor saxophonist Harold Land, pianist Richie Powell, and bassist George Morrow). All of the titles on this album, The California Concerts 1954, were previously issued on a GNP/Crescendo LP, but these are the full-length versions, with more extensive tenor and piano solos. In addition, 35 seconds of Clifford Brown’s trumpet solo on “Tenderly” have also been restored, along with verbal introductions of the songs by drummer Max Roach. The music is as glorious as ever, with Brown consistently taking solo honors and being showcased on “Tenderly” and “I Can’t Get Started.” These versions of “All God’s Chillun Got Rhythm,” “Jordu,” and Teddy Edwards’ “Sunset Eyes” are definitive, but every selection is exciting. Highly recommended.

This book is a part of the highly ambitious Erik Veldkamp project to completely transcribe every note Clifford Brown ever put on record. You get the full tunes, complete with chord changes, expertly engraved, and ready for you to drop the needle and play along to your favourite records. Check out the full song list below, play some samples for free to the left, then grab an immediate PDF download above.

  1. Introductions
  2. All God’s Chillun Got Rhythm
  3. Tenderly
  4. Sunset Eyes
  5. Clifford’s Axe
  6. Jordu
  7. I Can’t Get Started
  8. I Get A Kick Out Of You
  9. Parisian Thoroughfare

Additional information





File Size in MB



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Historic California Concerts of 1954”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You don't have permission to register