• No products in the cart.

The Eminent Jay Jay Johnson Vol.1 By Clifford Brown


Digital Download

This particular album concentrates exclusively on the Jay Jay Johnson’s 1953 sextet date with the great trumpeter Clifford Brown, Jimmy Heath (who doubles on tenor and baritone), pianist John Lewis, bassist Percy Heath and drummer Kenny Clarke. The six titles (plus three alternates) are highlighted by “It Could Happen to You,” “Turnpike” and a classic rendition of “Get Happy.” Although Johnson has a couple of features, Clifford Brown largely steals the show. These solos are legendary, and every single note has been transcribed here.

This book is a part of the highly ambitious Erik Veldkamp project to completely transcribe every note Clifford Brown ever put on record. You get the full tunes, complete with chord changes, expertly engraved, and ready for you to drop the needle and play along to your favourite records. Check out the full song list below, play some samples for free to the left, then grab an immediate PDF download above.

  1. Capri
  2. Lover Man (Tacet)
  3. Turnpike
  4. Sketch
  5. It Could Happen To You (Tacet)
  6. Get Happy (alt. take)
  7. Turnpike (alt. take)
  8. Get Happy (alt. take)

Additional information






File Size in MB



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Eminent Jay Jay Johnson Vol.1”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You don't have permission to register