• No products in the cart.

Sacrae Symphoniae (1597) No.2 Canzon Septimi Toni À 8 (No.1) By Giovanni Gabrieli


Digital Download

Gabrieli’s Sacrae Symphoniae (1597) No.2 Canzon Septimi Toni À 8 (No.1) is written for 4 Trumpets and 4 Trombones, arranged into two antiphonal choirs.

Gabrieli was the foremost composer to explore compositions exceeding eight parts and to employ polychoral techniques. Furthermore, his innovation extended to the fusion of polyphonic and homophonic textures, as well as the seamless integration of duple and triple meters within individual works, all while demonstrating a keen sense of tonal palette and specified instrumentation to evoke dramatic effects. In his seminal publication “Life and Works of Giovanni Gabrieli” (American Institute of Musicology, 1967), Egon Kenton discerns the embryonic forms of the concerto grosso and solo concerto in Gabrieli’s juxtaposition of tutti and solo passages, and the interplay between soloistic upper voices and accompanying lower voices. It would be fair to assert that Gabrieli not only pioneered innovative techniques but also executed them with consummate skill, showcasing his mastery over materials of the highest caliber.

Take a look at sample pages of the parts and score and then click above for an immediate PDF download.

Additional information



Book Type


File Size in MB





There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Sacrae Symphoniae (1597) No.2 Canzon Septimi Toni À 8 (No.1)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You don't have permission to register