• No products in the cart.

Helen Merrill with Clifford Brown By Clifford Brown


Digital Download

This was the debut studio album by vocalist Helen Merrill, on which she’s accompanied by trumpeter Clifford Brown in arrangements by the young Quincy Jones. Brown had recorded a very similar album with Sarah Vaughan only a few days previously, which we also sell right here.

Scott Yanow of AllMusic awarded the album a near perfect rating, saying that the music is essentially straight-ahead bop, yet the seven standards are uplifted by the presence of Merrill (in top form) and Brown. The performance of “‘S Wonderful” is known as one of the best versions of the Gershwin tune ever produced, with the two sessions being called a vocal jazz feast well worth deserving of more renown.

This book is a part of the highly ambitious Erik Veldkamp project to completely transcribe every note Clifford Brown ever put on record. You get the full tunes, complete with chord changes, expertly engraved, and ready for you to drop the needle and play along to your favourite records. Check out the full song list below, play some samples for free to the left, then grab an immediate PDF download above.

01. Don’t Explain
02. You’d Be So Nice To Come Home To
03. What’s New
04. Falling In Love With Love
05. Yesterdays
06. Born To Be Blue
07. ‘S Wonderful

Additional information






File Size in MB



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Helen Merrill with Clifford Brown”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You don't have permission to register