• No products in the cart.

Fagerquist Swingin’ In the Ol’ Corral (Complete Album Transcription) By Don Fagerquist


Digital Download

Swingin’ in the Ol’ Corral owes its existence to a disc jockey named Jack Wagner, who had the fine habit of more than occasionally spinning jazz recordings on his several KHJ programs. The Dave Pell Octet happened to be one of his favorite groups, and so it was Dave to whom he turned when it occurred to him to present a sterling galaxy of Western tunes in a jazz format.

This is where Swingin’ In the Ol’ Corral was born. Lofty praise of this success must be heaped on the various arrangers, who did a wonderful job with this collection of songs, many of which should be familiar to everyone.

Don Fagerquist was Dave Pell’s trumpeter on this album, and this series of books from Stuart McLean-Fowler offers complete album, note-for-note transcriptions of every note he played on record. By digging deep into the improvisatory style of a unique talent like Don Fagerquist you have the opportunity to learn the language of jazz in a way that is impossible in a classroom.

Grab your horn and give the sample pages a try, then click above for an immediate digital download.

Song List

  1. I’m an Old Cowhand
  2. Gal in Calico
  3. Arkansas
  4. Across the Alley From The Alamo
  5. My Sombrero
  6. South of the Border
  7. Wagon Wheels
  8. Cool Water
  9. Empty Saddles
  10. I’ll Be Hanged
  11. Oklahoma Hills
  12. Camptown Races

Additional information



Book Type



File Size in MB



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Fagerquist Swingin’ In the Ol’ Corral (Complete Album Transcription)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You don't have permission to register