• No products in the cart.

Fagerquist Plays Irving Berlin (Complete Album Transcription) By Don Fagerquist


Digital Download

The Dave Pell Octet was one of the definitive cool jazz groups of the 1950s. Tenor saxophonist Pell played with Les Brown’s big band during 1948-56 and started to record with an octet drawn from the orchestra in 1953. His first project was a set of a dozen Irving Berlin tunes, and the results are quite memorable. The swinging and subtle ensembles, concise and emotionally restrained solos, and excellent musicianship would be trademarks of the band.

Don Fagerquist was Dave Pell’s trumpeter, and this series of books from Stuart McLean-Fowler offers complete album, note-for-note transcriptions of every note he played on record. By digging deep into the improvisatory style of a unique talent like Don Fagerquist you have the opportunity to learn the language of jazz in a way that is impossible in a classroom.

Grab your horn and give the sample pages a try, then click above for an immediate digital download.

Song List

  1. I’m Putting All My Eggs in One Basket
  2. Change Partners
  3. Love and the Weather
  4. Russian Lullaby
  5. Kate
  6. Say It with Music
  7. I Used to Be Color Blind
  8. Let’s Have Another Cup of Coffee
  9. Better Luck Next Time
  10. They Say It’s Wonderful
  11. This Year’s Kisses
  12. He Ain’t Got Rhythm


Additional information



Book Type



File Size in MB



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Fagerquist Plays Irving Berlin (Complete Album Transcription)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You don't have permission to register