• No products in the cart.

Clifford Brown with Strings By Clifford Brown


Digital Download

This album features a collection of ballads in moving performances by Clifford Brown, the trumpeter of genius whose name will forever remain in the annals of Jazz history, and whose brief life came to an end after only twenty-five years, accompanied by strings.

The January 1955 sessions are, in retrospect, extremely remarkable for Neal Hefti’s delicately nuanced arrangements which always seem to deliver up surprises. The 12 tracks are almost perfectly uniform in length and delivery, and it’s all the more remarkable that they remain fresh and inventive. Brown sounds as bright as a new pin and the lush strings receive their due share as well.

This book is a part of the highly ambitious Erik Veldkamp project to completely transcribe every note Clifford Brown ever put on record. You get the full tunes, complete with chord changes, expertly engraved, and ready for you to drop the needle and play along to your favourite records. Check out the full song list below, play some samples for free to the left, then grab an immediate PDF download above.

1. Yesterdays
2. Laura
3. What’s New
4. Blue Moon
5. Can’t Help Lovin’ Dat Man
6. Embraceable You
7. Willow Weep for Me
8. Memories of You
9. Smoke Get’s In Your Eyes
10. Portrait of Jenny
11. When or When
12. Stardust

Additional information




Book Type

File Size in MB





There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Clifford Brown with Strings”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You don't have permission to register