• No products in the cart.

Chet Baker’s “Playboys” With Art Pepper By Chet Baker


Digital Download

This book is a complete album, note-for-note transcription of Chet baker’s “Playboys” with Art Pepper. Transcribed by the great Erik Veldkamp, this book brings some of Chet Baker’s most loved solos to his biggest and most enthusiastic fans.

These 1956 Pacific Jazz sides appeared in 1961 under the title Playboys. Myth and rumor persist that, under legal advice from the publisher of a similarly named magazine, the collection would have to be retitled. It was renamed Picture of Heath, as more than half of the tracks are Jimmy Heath compositions. Regardless, the music is the absolute same. These are the third sessions to feature the dynamic duo of Art Pepper (alto sax) and Chet Baker (trumpet). Their other two meetings had produced unequivocal successes. The first was during a brief July 1956 session at the Forum Theater in L.A. Baker joined forces with Pepper’s sextet, ultimately netting material for the Route LP. Exactly three months to the day later, Pepper and Baker reconvened to record tracks for the Chet Baker Big Band album.

It is unfortunate that more recordings do not exist that captured the special bond of Baker and Pepper. These thoroughly enjoyable and often high-energy sides are perfect for bop connoisseurs as well as mainstream jazz listeners.

To the left you can find some free samples, then you can click above for an immediate digital download.

Song List:

  1. For Minors Only
  2. Minor-Yours
  3. Resonant Emotions
  4. Tynan Tyme
  5. Picture of Heath
  6. For Miles and Miles
  7. C.T.A.

Additional information




Book Type



File Size in MB



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Chet Baker’s “Playboys” With Art Pepper”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You don't have permission to register