• No products in the cart.

Asafiev Sonata for Trumpet By Boris Asafiev



Boris Asafiev was a Russian and Soviet composer, writer, musicologist, musical critic and one of founders of Soviet musicology. His Sonata for Trumpet is an absolute staple of the repertoire and is performed by the majority of college and professional level trumpeters. This work can anchor a recital with its heft and length (14.5 minutes) and can be easily programmed next to other Russian works from the 20th century.

Fun Fact: Asafiev is the dedicatee of Prokofiev’s First Symphony.

Asafyev had a strong influence on Soviet music. His compositions include ballets, operas, symphonies, concertos and chamber music. His ballets include Flames of Paris, based on the French Revolution, and The Fountain of Bakhchisarai, which was first performed in 1934, and was performed at the Mariinsky Theatre in St. Petersburg in 2006.

His writings, under the name Igor Glebov, include The Book about Stravinsky and Glinka, for which he was awarded the Stalin Prize in 1948.

Check out the first page of each part to the left, then grab an immediate PDF download above.

Categories: , Tags: ,

Additional information



Book Type

File Size in MB






There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Asafiev Sonata for Trumpet”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You don't have permission to register