• No products in the cart.

A Night at Birdland Vol.1 By Clifford Brown


Digital Download

A Night at Birdland Vol. 1 is a 1954 release by jazz artist Art Blakey, and a quintet which featured Clifford Brown, Lou Donaldson, Horace Silver and Curly Russell. It was first released by Blue Note Records as a 10″ LP and then as a 12″ LP containing material from the second 10″ album. It was reissued for the first time on CD in 1987 with two additional tracks (an alternate take of Wee-Dot and an improvisational piece titled Blues), previously released on a 2 LP Compilation in 1975 called Live Messengers, and this book includes transcriptions of the extra tracks as well.

The two albums that were released from the Birdland sessions are considered by The Penguin Guide to Jazz to be part of their core collection. Reviewers said simply that “Blakey and company had clicked that night at Birdland, all of the participants were in inspired form. Classic bop.”

This book is a part of the highly ambitious Erik Veldkamp project to completely transcribe every note Clifford Brown ever put on record. You get the full tunes, complete with chord changes, expertly engraved, and ready for you to drop the needle and play along to your favourite records. Check out the full song list below, play some samples for free to the left, then grab an immediate PDF download above.

1. Split Kick
2. Once in a While
3. Quicksilver
4. A Night in Tunisia
5. Mayrey
6. Wee-Dot (alt. take)
7. Blues

Additional information



Book Type




File Size in MB



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “A Night at Birdland Vol.1”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You don't have permission to register