• No products in the cart.

12 Solos from Miles Davis’ Prestige Recordings By Miles Davis


Digital Download

Miles Davis has been an exceptionally strong and enduring influence on trumpet players and upon the direction of jazz music in general. His influence was felt as early as the late 1940’s while he was still a member of Charlie Parker’s quintet. It is still strongly felt in 1980. Miles’ sound and emotional depth are immediately striking to the most casual listener, but his rare combination and masterful balance of all the elements of music are found in only a handful of jazz greats – starting with Louis Armstrong.

After listening to these solos over the last 25 years, you will be amazed at the balance Miles achieves in execution and emotional impact. He seems to have an innate sense of when to leave space and let the music breathe; a sense of proportion and structure; a uniquely warm and personal sound and an unerring sense of swing. Much more often than not, everything seems so right – just the right choice of notes played, at just the right time, just the right way.

The following solos were recorded for Prestige Records between October, 1951 and October, 1956, all of which are included in this great transcription book. Samples to the left to try before you buy an immediate digital download above.

  1. Dig
  2. Serpent’s Tooth
  3. Tune Up (May 19, 1953)
  4. Miles Ahead
  5. Solar
  6. Miles’ Theme
  7. Vierd Blues
  8. Oleo
  9. Airegin
  10. Tune Up (October 26, 1956)

Additional information



Book Type

File Size in MB





There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “12 Solos from Miles Davis’ Prestige Recordings”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You don't have permission to register